robot.jpg

With the Transformers movie gracing the silver screen today, robot geeks everywhere are clamoring the lines in anticipation of Michael Bay’s interpretation of their childhood memories. For those who believe in more than meets the eye, PingMag had an interview with the man behind the transformation of major characters like BumbleBee and Mirage in the Transformers movie – Australian Alex Kubalsky.

Basically, I’m an inventor and a character designer and my input is bringing everything into 3D reality and adding cool character dimensions like feature weapons and funny things to it: I do the part lists, draw the blueprints and then draw a 10 or 12 frame short animation to show how the toy would transform. I do this based off Hasbro concepts as well as my own characters and concepts that are okayed by Hasbro. They are a great team to work with.

Amazing! Head on for the interview here!

